What is a DUI level 1 class?
The consequences of a DUI conviction are harsh. Additional consequences include higher car insurance costs, a criminal record that can limit future educational, job, housing, and credit opportunities, and the loss of your reputation.
First Offense Nevada DUI
Typically, when you get arrested & convicted for the first time in Nevada for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol; cannabis, prescription or illegal drugs, or over the counter medicines, or a combination of any of the above, a judge will order you to:
1. Attend a DUI Level 1 8 hour class
Click to Book Now
2. Attend a Victim Impact Panel (VIP). Impact DUI School offers both group and individual sessions that last about 1 1/2 hours (VIP). Call 775.349.2497 to schedule.
3. Pay Fine ($400-$1000) and any fees to court.
4. Two days to 6 months jail time, or community service hours (24 to 96 hours) the court orders.
5. You will probably be supervised pre-trial and for a period after your conviction. You will have to test more than likely at Sober 24 or a probation officer, or the Department of Alternative Sentencing DAS).
6. To keep your license you will be ordered to install an interlock device in your vehicle(s). This prevents the car from starting if have alcohol on your breath or face a 90-day to 6 months driver’s license suspension along with a $35 civil penalty.
If you are under 21 or if your BAC measured .18 percent or more, you will have to obtain an alcohol/drug evaluation and also complete the evaluators treatment recommendations. This usually results in 13 to 26 hours of weekly alcohol and drug counseling groups and a monthly one on one counseling session. Because of being under age and/or a high BAC (.18 or more) the punishment ordered is similar to a 2nd offense DUI.
Second Offense Nevada DUI
(DUI Level 2 and 2X)
A second DUI misdemeanor conviction within seven years is punishable by jail time of 10 days to six months or house arrest. Fines range from $750 to $1,000 or community service that is equivalent. You will be required to attend a victim’s impact panel and pay for and complete an alcohol/drug abuse assessment followed by an intensive treatment program. Your license will be suspended for a year. If your BAC was at or above .18 percent, you will have to pay for, install, and maintain a breath interlock device in your car for 12 to 36 months once your license is reinstated.
You will also have to obtain an alcohol/drug evaluation and also complete the evaluators treatment recommendations. This usually results in 13 to 26 hours of weekly alcohol and drug counseling groups and a monthly one on one counseling session.
Third DUI Offense in Nevada
A third DUI offense in seven years is charged as a Class B felony. The penalties for this offense include a prison term of one to six years, fines of $2,000 up to $5,000, attendance at a victim impact panel, a breath interlock device for 12 to 36 months, a license suspension of three years, and an alcohol/drug abuse assessment. In some cases, prison time may be avoided by completing a tough rehabilitation program (SB 277) lasting from three to five years under DUI Court. This program involves counseling and court supervision and you may be sent to jail if you fail to comply by its rules.
DUI Causing Bodily Injury or Death
This is a much more serious offense due to the harm caused to others. If you are convicted of the felony of causing an accident due to intoxication which results in injury or death, you will face two to 20 years in a state prison and fines of $2,000 up to $5,000. This offense is non-probationary, which means you must go to prison regardless of whether you have never been in trouble with the law before.
This is the most serious of all drunk or drugged driving offenses. It is charged when you have three previous DUI convictions and then cause the death of another through DUI. This offense is charged as a Class A felony punishable by 25 years to life in prison. Parole may be possible after serving 10 years of your sentence.